Warmth on a cold winter’s eve . . .

Nothing tastes better than a hot bowl of chili when it’s, oh say, 6 degrees outside. It’s been butt cold here in Denver, so all I want to make are hot bowls of soup & hot cocoa & hot toddies. This particular recipe comes from my favorite lunch spot tucked away in West Washington Park, Vert Kitchen. Noah (one of the owners) very graciously gave me his mother’s recipe for chili. I’ve made this now 3 times and it is hands down the best chili I’ve made (and I thought I was pretty good before). Find the recipe below and please go visit Vert and make sure you tell them I sent you!


Noah & Emily of Vert Kitchen

Ingredients:
one red onion diced
2 T olive oil
one can tomato soup (I used WF)
one can of kidney beans, rinsed
one can of black beans, rinsed
one can of white beans, rinsed
one large can of diced tomatoes
Ground Buffalo (really tastes fantastic in chili!)

Method:
Saute onions on medium high in olive oil until translucent. Add buffalo to the pan and cook through, stirring often, making sure not to cook it too much. Add all beans, tomato soup and can of tomatoes. Season with s & p, cumin, and chili powder (to taste). Lower heat to medium and let cook for at least 20 minutes. Obviously, the longer you cook it the better it will taste. Make sure to keep an eye on it so it doesn’t cook down too much. Add water if you need to. Serve with warm corn tortillas and a green salad.

Thanks Noah!

