Light Drinking Said OK for Pregnant Women?

 

 

A new study out of the UK finds that light drinking is OK for pregnant women. Wow. What do you think about that? I have to be totally honest . . . with my first child, I think I had a wine spritzer at a wedding and that was it. But, with my second, I probably had a glass of wine once a week.

But I’m not sure how I feel about the general public getting the green light on drinking during pregnancy. I know the study wanted to focus on “light drinking” but so many people have different definitions of what light drinking really is. As an educated women, I know that an occasional glass of wine won’t harm my baby . . . but let’s look at people who don’t have the ability to discern what really might be common sense to the rest of us. I get why our dear government has limitations and standards in relation to things like this . . . it’s to protect those people. I’ve heard that American doctors are angry about this new study, and I get why. Can you imagine what they are going to have to deal with now? (Of course maybe the people they worry about the most, won’t actually hear about this study) At least that’s what they’re hoping.

So, what do you think about this? Do you or did you drink during your pregnancy? Do you think this study will even have an effect on the general public? I’m just curious.

Also, did you see this study? This one comes from ACOG. I’ve always known this . . . but I always recommend that you drink a glass of water in conjunction with the cup of jo. Caffeine is a diuretic — and dehydration is what may cause a miscarriage. So, if you do indulge in coffee while pregnant, make sure you are drinking plenty of water.

Ok, my brain is hurting now. I’ll talk about fall bags and jackets tomorrow!

