Lunch Box

Happy Tuesday Hot Mamas! I hope you had a great holiday. Now, it really feels like fall. And with that, apple season. I love apples. Have you tried the Jazz apple? It’s the perfect combination of sweet and tart and crunch.

Preparing lunch for my daughter is a pain. She is very picky. But, one thing she loves are the apple/peanut butter combo. So, when I saw this recipe I got really excited. I may or may not include the chocolate chips (it’s a good bribe though).

Recipe:

Ingredients:

2 small apples, cored and cut crosswise into 1/2-inch thick rounds
1 teaspoon lemon juice (optional – to brush on the apples to keep from getting brown)
3 tablespoons peanut or almond butter
2 tablespoons semisweet chocolate chips
3 tablespoons granola

Method:

Spread one side of half of the apple slices with peanut or almond butter then sprinkle with chocolate chips and granola. Top with remaining apple slices, pressing down gently to make the sandwiches. Wrap tightly or place in a small Tupperware box (does anyone remember Tupperware? I used to have a lunch box.)

Recipe courtesy of Whole Foods

