Going Vegetarian

Ok, so I’m a meat lover. But, I also think it is good to eat vegetarian meals at least once a week. Chickpeas are an excellent source of protein and fiber. But, did you also know, it is also full of molybdenum? So, I had to look it up — molybdenum is a mineral and it helps the body metabolize carbohydrates and fats and it is also very useful in helping the body absorb iron. Sounds like a very good thing to me!

The recipe today is for Chickpea Burgers. The photo on Martha Stewart’s site had a gigantic dollop of mayo on the burger — hence the picture of just chickpeas (I hate mayonnaise). This looks really good to me, and, since it’s in “burger form”, my kids might actually eat it. I love that this recipe has nuts in it too!

Give it a shot and let me know what you think! I’m making it tonight.

Martha’s Chickpea Burgers:

Serves 4

  • 1 can (15 ounces) chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 4 scallions, trimmed
  • 2 slices white sandwich bread (I’d do something a little more dense like a wheat or multi-grain)
  • 1/3 cup peanuts or almonds, unsalted
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 tablespoon fresh ginger, chopped
  • Coarse salt and ground pepper
  • 1 large egg
  • Olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
  • Whole-wheat English muffins and lettuce, to serve with burgers (I’ll probably either do without a bun, or use sourdough toast instead)

Method:

  1. Heat grill to high. In a food processor, combine chickpeas, scallions, bread, nuts, cumin, and ginger; season with salt and pepper. Pulse until roughly chopped. Remove half the mixture to a bowl; add egg to food processor. Process until smooth; add to reserved mixture in bowl, and mix well.
  2. Form the mixture into four 3/4-inch-thick patties. Brush each side generously with oil; grill until charred, 3 to 5 minutes per side. Serve the burgers on English muffins with lettuce, and mustard.
Read more at Marthastewart.com: Chickpea Burger Recipe – MarthaStewart.com

Read more at Marthastewart.com: Chickpea Burger Recipe – MarthaStewart.com

