Happy Birthdays

Today is my son, Alessandro’s, 12th birthday. Wow. I can’t believe how old he is and that I’ve actually been a mother for that long.

When I was growing up, birthdays were sacred. Mom made a special breakfast, presents were opened and the day just felt like it was my very own. I always had fried chicken & mashed potatoes for dinner and a chocolate cake.

As I type this, I can hear my son in the next room singing to himself. I try to think back when he was a baby and I can hear his tiny little voice in his crib.

Today I will make dutch babies for breakfast. Hands down the best breakfast for kids. It’s also a great crowd-pleaser for brunch. It takes minutes to prepare and it’s unbelievably easy.

Oven Dutch Babies

Ingredients:

1 cup milk

1 cup flour

4 eggs

tsp. vanilla

3 Tbs. butter

Method:

Preheat oven to 425 degrees

Place butter in large rectangular baking dish and place in oven. In the meantime put the milk, flour, eggs & vanilla in a blender and blend well. Once butter is melted, pour contents of the blender into the pan and put back into the oven. Bake for 20 minutes. When you take the pan out of the oven you will have this large, puffy, happy souffle. Now, quick, get it on the table for the ooohs and ahhhs. Add your favorite fruit and syrup and let the eating begin.

I’m also making chocolate cake today. All Hot Mamas need to know how to make a chocolate cake! Here is a great recipe. I like this recipe because it gives you the high altitude options.

Well, I’m off to make breakfast, and celebrate my own birthday of sorts.

