What do Hot Mamas eat for lunch?

October 9, 2012 Comments Off

Well, if you live close to the studio, chances are you eat at Vert Kitchen. Vert is an amaze organic fresh and delicious lunch spot — owned by wonderful Noah Stevens . . . if you live in Denver, you HAVE to come check it out. But, avoid on the weekends, the line is ridic.

For those of you who need to eat from home, or bring a lunch to work, what do you eat? In general, eating a healthy, satisfying lunch is pretty difficult unless you plan for it. When I go to Whole Foods on Sundays, I make sure I have lunch ideas on my list. I say ideas because sometimes when I get there, I’m inspired by things that are in season or may be featured in the store that day (this is their job after all). P.S. Have I told you how much I love WF? It is my happy place. I know everyone who works there and if there is anything you want to try, all you have to do is ask. They will sample just about anything for you.

Things to have on hand at home for a good lunch:

  • Salad Materials (i.e.; lettuces, tomatoes, carrots, celery, olives, peppers, and the like)
  • hummus (or learn how to make it – great Martha recipe)
  • eggs (not just for breakfast anymore)
  • deli meat
  • nuts
  • Dressings

What’s great is if you can have all of these things washed and at the ready so you can just toss into a bowl.

RULE #1: Don’t eat standing up in the kitchen. This leads to overeating and just grabbing foods at the random which leads to consuming too many calories and a stomach ache. Make yourself a plate, fill a water glass, and sit down: much more civilized and will actually satiate you.

Here is a great recipe I ran across this weekend — use this as inspiration and add the things you like.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading What do Hot Mamas eat for lunch? at .

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

